Scouting Language

Cub Scouting has a language all its own. If you are not familiar with it, below are definitions of many terms you will encounter as you get more and more involved in the program.


To earn the rank badge, Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts must complete Achievements found in their Handbook. The Achievements cover these areas: God, Country, Family and Self.

Activity Badge

There are 20 Activity Badges a Webelos Scout can earn. These are divided into 5 areas: Physical, Mental, Technology, Outdoor, and Community. A pin is presented for completion of each Activity Badge.

Arrow of Light

This is the highest award a boy can earn in Cub Scouting – also the ONLY (non-religious) award from Cub Scouts which can be worn on a Boy Scout Uniform.

Arrow Points

Arrow Points are awarded to Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts for completion of electives beyond the Achievements covered for earning the Wolf or Bear rank badge. A Gold Arrow Point is awarded for the first 10 electives; a Silver Arrow Point is awarded for each successive 10 electives completed.

Bear Cub

These are generally third grade Cub Scouts, who work on activities in the areas God, Country, Family and Self. Of the 24 possible Achievements, they must complete a prescribed amount in each area, for a total of 12.


Every boy who joins Cub Scouts must first earn the Bobcat badge. Doing this, he learns the seven basic tenets of Cub Scouting: the Promise, the Law of the Pack, the sign, the handshake, the motto, the salute, and what Webelos means.

Boy Scout

A Boy Scout is between the ages of 11 and 18 and belongs to a Troop. He advances through these ranks: Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, then Eagle.

Boy Scouts of America

The Boy Scouts of America is a nationally chartered organization that encompasses Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venture Crews, and Varsity Units.


This is the group of adult volunteers who “run” the Pack. Any interested adult is welcome to attend Committee meetings. They are responsible for the administration of the Packs activities.


The Council is an organization of professional Scouters that oversees all Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops, Venture Crews and other units in an area. Pack 101 is part of the Greater Western Reserve Council.

Court of Honor

A Court of Honor is a special awards ceremony. Awards may be presented at any Pack meeting, but there is a special ceremony for presentation of awards at a Court of Honor.

Cub or Cub Scout

A Cub Scout is any member of Boy Scouts in first through fifth grade (or age 7 – 11).


The Cubmaster is the chief adult volunteer leader. The Cubmaster runs the Pack meetings, and advises all other leaders.


The Den is a group of Cub Scouts who meet at regular intervals. Ideally, a den consists of 6 to 8 boys who are all working toward the same rank.

Den Leader

The adult volunteer who is in charge of planning and running den meetings is the Den Leader.

Den Meeting

Individual Den Meetings are held for each rank level of Cub Scouts. These usually occur at a regular intervals, such as weekly or bi-weekly. Wolf and Bear dens work on fun projects, crafts, skits, or some of their Achievements. Webelos dens use this time to work on the various Activity Badges.


Each Council is divided into a number of Districts. Pack 101 is part of the Arrowhead District.


Each level of Scouting has its own Handbook. The Handbook is ESSENTIAL for your Scout, as it spells out the requirements for advancement, as well as providing a place to record completion of the same.


The whole group – all of our dens and families together is called a Pack. The Pack usually meets once every month.

Rank Badges

The Rank Badges, in order, are: Bobcat, Wolf, Bear, and Webelos.


Each Unit must have a sponsoring organization, such as a church, service club, etc. Pack 101 is sponsored by the Blessed Sacrament Church.

Tiger Cub

Tiger Cubs are first grade boys who, with an adult partner, participate in several of 17 Big Ideas. The Tiger Cub program serves as an introduction to the Cub Scout program. Tiger Cubs and their families are often encouraged to participate in Pack events.

Tiger Partner

The adult partner of a Tiger Cub, usually a family member, is the Tiger Partner.


The Uniform is the prescribed clothing for any and all official Cub Scout events. In Pack 101, the minimum Uniform consists of a uniform shirt, (with all patches), appropriate neckerchief, and blue jeans, pants (or shorts). Webelos Scouts use the “colors” for activity pins. For “casual” events, a Cub or Webelos Scout T-shirt and shorts is acceptable.


Each individually chartered Pack, Troop, Crew or Lodge is a Unit.


Webelos means WE‘ll BE LOyal Scouts.

Webelos Leader

The adult volunteer who is in charge of planning and running den meetings and activities is the Webelos Leader.

Webelos Scout

These are fourth and fifth grade Cub Scouts, who work on up to 20 Activity Badges in the den setting. These activities are designed to prepare the boys for the merit badge methodology utilized in Boy Scouts.

Wolf Cub

These are generally second grade Cub Scouts, who work on 12 Achievements, mostly in the den setting. Arrow Points are awarded for work done on a multitude of electives.

Scroll to Top